Zeta Phi Beta Sorority

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was organized at Howard University on January 16, 1920 as the result of encouragement given to the five founders by Charles Taylor and Langston Taylor who are members of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity. Arizona Cleaver, Myrtle Tyler, Viola Tyler, Pearl Neal, and Fannie Pettie are the five founders of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. The five women believed that sorority elitism and socializing overshadowed the real mission for progressive organizations and failed to address fully the societal mores, ills, prejudices, and poverty affecting humanity in general as well as the black community. The founders collectively had an ideal to create a sorority that would directly effect positive change and chart an awareness among their people and encourage the highest standards of scholastic achievements, and foster a greater sense of unity among its members through sisterhood. The newly established organization predicated on the percepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood. It was the ideal of the Founders to reach college women in all parts of the country who were sorority minded and desired to follow the founding principles of the organization.

Alpha Alpha Chi Zeta Chapter began on June 4, 2015 at an informational meeting held in Neptune, New Jersey. The chapter was chartered on July 21, 2015 by 18 educated, civic minded professional women with a vision. Their mission is to serve New Jersey’s Monmouth & Ocean Counties with hard work and dedication to community based endeavors.

Follow us on Facebook